Structural Disorder

Structural Disorder is a progressive metal group formed in Stockholm, Sweden in September 2011.

The band consists of Markus Tälth (Guitar/Vocals), Jóhannes West (Electric Accordion/Vocals), Hjalmar Birgersson (Guitar/Vocals), Erik Arkö (Bass/Vocals) and Karl Björk (Drums).

The band was formed during the summer of 2011 by Erik Arkö, Johannes West and Markus Tälth. The band was later completed with the arrival of the drummer Karl Björk and guitarist/vocalist Hjalmar Birgersson.

The work with the EP ” A PRELUDE TO INSANITY” began instantly once the band was complete and on January 1st, the recording session began. The recording session took place night time during the period January 1st – january 5th at Högskolan Dalarna in Falun. The EP was in part produced by the band, but also by sound engineer John Nilsson Tysklind, who has recently released an album with his band Rhinestone. Co – engineer Scott Crocker had also a large part in the form that ” A prelude to insanity” took.

The EP was recorded during four ten hour shifts, followed by a month of mastering, mixing and general exploring of numerous ideas that came to mind during this phase in the production. The EP was released on the 9th of march 2012.

With more material and higher ambitions the band once again entered the studio in Falun in january 2013, this time with Scott Crocker as the sound engineer. The recording took place in the studio as well as in Stockholm. Eventually, the Full lenght debut, entitled “THE EDGE OF SANITY” was released on the 4th of february 2014.

The band has since november 2013 been rehearsing new songs, and so far the contents for the potential second album stays in the progressive vein, with a slighty different – but yet familiar – sound compared to the one on “The Edge of Sanity”.